Awaken your Creativity

“Creativity is just connecting things. When you ask creative people how they did something, they feel a little guilty because they didn’t really do it, they just saw something. It seemed obvious to them after a while. That’s because they were able to connect experiences they’ve had and synthesize new things.” ~Steve Jobs

 

Creativity. It is imagination turned into life. A mystery that not a lot of people discover. Is creativity really a kind of talent that you possess since birth or a skill that can be achieved? In my opinion, it’s something that is always there and you just need to wake it up. Yes people, wake that creativity inside you!

The first step to do this is to think positive. Believe that you have creativity in you. The good thing about creativity is that it’s not boxed into one thing. Some might be creative with numbers while some are creative with words. See? Being creative is not just about creating artworks but it involves a lot of different things, you just have to find it. That’s what the next step is all about.

Once you’re positive that you have it, now is the time to find it. Get up from your usual rituals and explore new things. This may not fully awaken your creative juices but it will definitely trigger it. Go to galleries, attend workshops or just read about creative people and see their works(if you really can’t give up your comforts at home). Immerse yourself in the creativity around you and I’m sure that you will slowly recognize your own. I myself can attest to this, let me share with you how I tried to find my creativity at an early age.

Being an only child, I was always left with my nanny at home so I tried to entertain myself in a lot of ways. Although I like playing with my neighbors outside, it’s not enough to get my attention(and stamina) for the whole day. So, when my parents take me to bookstores(did I mention it’s my favorite place in the mall?) before I even learn how to read, my eyes will always wander around coloring books. That’s when I  started  to like seeing pictures and coloring them. For a child, it’s just so magical to be able to put colors into images. This then triggered me to also draw the pictures on those coloring books. I was able to control my hand movements and produce solid lines.

My parents and nanny were just shocked one day that I have a huge pile of typewriting papers beside my coloring books. I just smile sometimes when I remember their faces. Probably they just thought of how much cleaning they need to do with all the papers I’ve wasted. Little did we know that those wasted paper aren’t really junks. Actually, they helped a lot in shaping the artist I am now. Maybe it’s just boredom in a child’s mind but it became an integral part of my learning. Don’t be afraid to try new things, you might be surprised on how much you can discover.

After finding out your inner creativity, I encourage you to do things to nurture it by having constant practice. Maybe you think that the advice on practicing are now overrated. Honestly, I also think that way sometimes but I cannot hide the fact that it is effective. There will be times when(or it can happen most of the time really) the spirit of laziness is just so strong that practice will feel dragging and stressful but mate, never lose to that.

In order to overcome that laziness, I’ve thought of ways on how I can be productive and still practice while having fun. I grabbed a shoe box and decorated it to my liking (as shown in the photo below) and filled it with rolled pieces of papers, inside them are different tasks that I should complete. In this case, I’ve come up with drawing tasks because that’s what I want to practice but you can also use this method whatever creative side you want to improve on. For example, you want to improve your creativity with words, you can fill the box with themes that you can write about every now and then. The key here is to have discipline. The tasks in the box won’t work if you’re not committed to completing them in a specific period of time.

14322326_1070460456384359_6744000811529684538_n

Recently, I’ve found an app that creates more task for me and is more convenient because I can always access it whenever and wherever I am. The app is called Canvas Tutor and I just bumped into it while browsing interesting games on my phone. The graphics are pretty cool so I opened it and found out that it’s an application made to train artists. Every day it will give you tasks that you must complete in a specific time in which you will gain specific points for anatomy, backgrounds, inking etc. (I can have a thorough review about it if you’d like). It is also designed in a way that as you go through the tasks, a cute anime child (as you can see on my screenshot below) will also grow. So it really feels like you’re nurturing something and it grows as you improve. I’m kind of a techie that’s why it works for me, so for other techies out there, you can also find apps that suit you best.

Nurturing can be the hardest part of your creative journey but it is also the most fulfilling. Nothing beats that feeling when you know you’ve done enough and because of that, the possibilities are limitless. Frustrations will always come and go but at least, you know you have practiced so much that you can even back yourself up. Believe that you have it, discover it and nurture that creativity within you. It’s just sleeping there and it is never too late to wake it up. Who knows? It might just be what you need to understand yourself more and pursue your true passion.

~Chubbycheeksxoxo

09/15/2016

 

 

Leave a Reply

